EU agrees trade deal with African Nations

Published 15 June 16

The EU has signed a trade agreement with six African nations, known as the Economic Partnership Group (EPG). This will see the removal of all import duties on goods from Botswana, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia and Swaziland – including all farm products – and most duties for goods from South Africa.

It should allow both parties with better access to each other’s markets, with the EU and South Africa agreed on recognising each other’s protected geographical indications, 251 from the EU and 105 from SA.

The EU exported around 19.5k tonnes of dairy products in 2015 to these countries valued at around €81m (£64m).

The deal, which has been signed after a decade of talks, must now be approved by the 28 member states of the EU and the 6 countries in the EPG.