Next Dairy Farmer of the Year

Published 15 August 15

As the winners of the award in 2014 Robert and Steve were invited to take part in the judging process for 2015. This year’s finalists for Dairy Farmer of the Year are:

Brian Yates, East Logan Farm, Castle Douglas, Kirkcudbrightshire
Brian is a great role model for the next generation at East Logan. He has increased herd size to 276 pedigree Holsteins, invested in new housing, a biomass boiler and water recycling.

Adrian Smith, Brook House Farm, Middlewich, Cheshire
A grassland-based system enables Adrian to keep production costs low, but yielding an impressive 5,120 litres for his 202 Holstein Friesians.

Peter and Di Wastenage, Wastenage Farms, Budleigh Salterton, Devon
An NZ-style dairy and a tight-knit, well-trained team has enabled this enterprising couple to expand the business to more than 1,000 cows.

The winner will be announced at the Farmers Weekly Awards event in London in October.